Comprehensive  Ghana Oil and Gas news, information, updates, analysis

News in Brief

GOGA 2017 rewards best of oil and gas players

  • SOURCE: BFTonline | qwesa2big
  • For the fourth consecutive year the Ghana Oil and Gas Awards (GOGA) has rewarded the best of industry players from the upstream, midstream and downstream to allied and supply chain service providers.

    At a glitzy event at the Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City, more than 50 individuals and organisations were rewarded for their contribution to the success of an industry that contributes millions of dollars in foreign exchange and create thousands of jobs.

    The awards recognizes achievements from local and international companies involved in the Ghana oil and gas sector and rewarded those that have played a defining role in moving the industry forward. The 2017 edition came off on the theme: ‘Ten years of Oil Discovery; Four years of celebrating excellence’.

    Dr. Mohammed Amin Adam, Deputy Minister for Energy, in charge of Petroleum, urged all Ghanaians to collectively support government in its strive to develop the oil and gas industry to ensure Ghanaians derive maximum benefit.

    Dr. Mohammed Amin Adam, Deputy Minister for Energy, in charge of Petroleum

    “As some of you may be aware, government is determined to grow the industry, create more opportunities and wealth for Ghana and the citizenry. In this respect, we have begun the implementation of some far reaching policies, including the National LPG Promotion Policy,” he said.

    Dr. Adam urged LPG retailers and distributors, who are threatening to go on strike for unfair treatment by government to use the best channels to address their challenges since every stands to lose from their halt in operations.

    The night saw some of the biggest names rewarded for the exemplary leadership including Kingsley Awuah-Darko for his contribution to the downstream sector; Charles Darku for Exploration; Patrick Akpe Kwame Akorli for policy initiative; Dr. Ivy Manly Spain was adjudged the CEO of the Year for the downstream sector while Dr. Kofi Amoa-Abban, won the top gong as CEO of the Year for the upstream sector.

    For special recognitions, Project of the Year went to FPSO-Eni Ghana; Market Leadership Award, Sigma Gas Cylinder; Sustainable &Corporate Investment Award, Kosmos Energy; Indigenous Project of the Year, Rigworld Training Center; Outstanding Contribution to Local Content, Nuerty Adzeman; Exemplary Entrepreneurship Award, Macdonald Vasnani; Visionary Leadership Award, Joseph Kojo Biney; Outstanding Policy Initiative Award, National Petroleum Authority; Oil Discovery and Strategy, Brian Maxted-Kosmos Energy; and Entrepreneur of the Year-Downstream, Rev. Dr. Kwaku Frimpong.

    Other award winners include LPG Marketing Company of the Year, Hills Oil Marketing Company; Oil and Gas Financial Service Provider of the Year, Fidelity Bank; Oil and Gas Personality of the Year-Downstream, Elton Dusi, CEO of Ebony Oil; Oil and Gas Personality of the Year-Upstream, Baluri Kassim Bukari; Oil and Gas Logistics Company of the Year, Consolidated Shipping Agencies; and Haulage Company of the Year, JK Horgle Transport & Co Ltd.

    The rest are Lubricant Product of the Year, Total Quartz 9000; Local Content Initiative Award, Modec Ghana Ltd; Oil and Gas Institution of the Year, All Nations University College; Marketing Campaign of the Year, Petrosol-Full Quantity; Depot of the Year, Tema Fuel Company; Excellence In CSR-Downstream, Vivo Energy; and Excellence in CSR-Upstream, Tullow Oil; and Best Growing Oil and Gas Company, Petroleum Solutions.

    Emerging Brand of the Year, AI Energy Group; Brand of the Year, Total Petroleum; Recruitment Company of the Year, Lain’e Service; Excellence In HSEQ-Downstream, JK Horgle Transport & Co. Ltd; Excellence In HSEQ-Upstream, GNPC-Technip; Indigenous Oil Company of the Year-Downstream, Frimps Oil Company Ltd; Indigenous Oil Company of the Year-Upstream, Seaweld Engineering Ltd; and Engineering/Construction Company, Modec Ghana Ltd.

    Bulk Distributing Company of the Year, Blue Ocean Investments Ltd; Oil Marketing Company of the Year, Ghana Oil Company; Promising Oil and Gas Company-Downstream, Eagles Petroleum; Promising Oil and Gas Company-Upstream, Damco Rigworld; the Oil and Gas Service Company of the Year include AI Energy Group for bunkering, Transatlantic Catering Services for Catering, Adonai Shipping for Shipping, and Jonmoore International for Lifting.

    Personalities who graced the occasion were Agyemang Duah, President of the Association of Oil Marketing Companies; Hassan Tampuli, CEO of the National Petroleum Authority (NPA); Yoofi Grant, CEO of the Ghana Investment Promotion Centre (GIPC); Joseph Cudjoe, Deputy Minister for Energy, in charge of Finance and Infrastructure; Dr. Mohammed Amin Adam, Deputy Minister for Energy, in charge of Petroleum; and Ing. Kenneth Ashigbey, CEO of the Chamber of Telecommunications.

    The rest include Olufemi Micheal Abikoye, Acting Nigerian High Commissioner; Professor Kwaku Appiah-Adu, Head, of Delivery Unit, Office of the President; Yakubu Alhassan, Director, Foreign Diplomacy and Protocol, Office of the President; Patrick Amos Poku, Director, Trade Facilitation and Free Port Establishment; Prof. Atta Peters, Board Chairman, Ghana Oil and Gas Awards; and Nana Esilifi Conduah, Board Member, Ghana Oil and Gas Awards.

    The sponsors on the night include uniBank, Latex Foam, Eris Property Group and Security Warehouse.

    Leave a reply

    About Us
    Reporting Oil and Gas project was launched on 4th June 2009 at Takoradi, Western Region, Ghana by Penplusbytes ( with the vision of providing a one stop online information and knowledge about Ghana’s oil and gas sector read more
    Twitter Activity Stream

    Partners We are proud to be associated with:

    Skip to toolbar